PC Games I’m Looking Forward To in 2016

This year there are two major PC games coming out that I absolutely need: XCOM 2 and Rise of the Tomb Raider. Both are sequels to their predecessors and will be coming out quarter one 2016.

XCOM 2

My love for this series knows no boundaries, and I dig the plot twist in the upcoming game. So it would seem the original XCOM project didn’t succeed at keeping out the aliens. Set twenty years after the events of Enemy Unknown, the aliens have taken over earth. It will be our job to restart the XCOM project and retake planet earth, while uncovering their true purpose, using the beloved turn-based combat and the overall meta of crafting, research, recruitment and of course, customization. The roles have been reversed and I like that.

I can’t wait to once again name my squad members after real life friends and put them through peril. It looks like there are new alien enemy types, environments and really, whatever they put out, I’m just looking forward to soaking it up. Not to mention, the Steam Workshop is getting a huge nod with this game, so I expect to see plenty of player-made campaigns, cosmetics and weapon mods. The possibilities are endlessly exciting.

xcom 2

XCOM 2 is out February 5 and costs RM215 for the Deluxe Edition on Steam.

Rise of the Tomb Raider 

I really enjoyed the Tomb Raider reboot, and have become a fan of Crystal Dynamic’s Lara Croft. In the first game we’ve established her story, and I totally buy the new Lara. She’s emotional and you really care for her as you played the game – a huge contrast to the pin-up barbie versions I grew up with – and that’s down to the excellent narrative.

In Rise of the Tomb Raider, Lara is truly embracing her calling, and it’s tomb raiding season. I’m looking forward to the Far Cry-esque environmental interaction, where you can hunt wildlife to craft equipment and scour the land for rare resources. It seems like crafting could play some role in character progression, as a choice. Would also like to mention that I’m slightly envious that XBOX players have already played this. I really think this console exclusive releases are bullshit, and you can quote me on that. Corporate marketing bullshit.

Rise-of-the-tomb-raider

Anyway, I can’t wait to see where the story goes in this one with Lara. Rise of the Tomb Raider is out January 29 as the Digital Deluxe Edition (Inclusive of Season Pass) costs a whooping RM290.

For both games, that’ll cost me 500 bucks! The prices of these AAA games are getting crazy, and of course, it doesn’t help that the local economy is a Pita. The real question is, can I hold back and wait for a sale? We shall see.

On a closing note, I know there are bunch of other games coming this year that a lot of people are rubbing their hands for. The new Deus Ex and Mass Effect Andromeda are coming out, while Playstation folks are talking about Uncharted 4 and The Last Guardian. On the MMORPG front, not much has caught my eye say for Camelot Unchained and Black Desert, and sadly, I cannot play the latter due to region restrictions.

I’ll be keeping a close eye on crowdfunded titles too, as there’s always a chance to find a hidden gem. (Pillars of Eternity anyone?)

Have a good year folks.

2 responses to “PC Games I’m Looking Forward To in 2016

Leave a Reply

