Ark Survival Evolved Server Wipe – Goodbye for Now

From day one, we made the decision to play on unofficial player hosted servers that were nearby geographically, not only to help our ping but to avoid the official servers. I’ve been on a couple of the official pve and pvp servers before, and was constantly on the receiving end of player harassment. Forgettable experience.

There was always a danger of something going wrong with unofficial servers. A few days ago, we received the sad news that our server had to be wiped. To say that we were gutted is an understatement. That’s over 600 hours of collective play time from the three of us who play this together, completely erased from existence. And I know a few other players on the server that have invested more. Hordes of hard-trained dinosaurs, hand-crafted bases and whole communities are gone. All because of a corruption to the server that was beyond anybody.

ArkWipe

In no way shape or form do I blame the admins of the local server. They have been superb since they opened their servers (for free), by showing us friendship, helpfulness and camaraderie. They weren’t a bunch elitist bastards you often find running their own servers.

While many I know on the server have started to rebuild, I cannot. I’m going to take some time away from Ark to process this, and can’t stomach spending the same amount of time needed to reach the point we were before. Maybe some day in 2016 nostalgia will bite, and I’ll rally the BVM gang once more.

On a positive note, at least now I know what it will feel like if one of my MMOs shuts down. Haha, I’ve been hardened.

2 responses to “Ark Survival Evolved Server Wipe – Goodbye for Now

  1. I’m so sorry to hear this! I’ve recently started playing ARK as a result of your enthusiastic blog posts and all my friends started playing now as well. It’s such an intuitive way to have fun. I can totally understand you need a bit of a break before you can make a new start.

    • Thanks for the kind words Rav. Good to hear that you are playing Ark with your friends, and I just know you’ll enjoy it, especially the wide array of customization options =). On the positive side of things, at least I now have more game time for SWTOR.

Leave a Reply

