Lost in Los Santos & Lotro Minstreling

I picked up Grand Theft Auto V during the Steam thanksgiving sale and I’ve been looking forward to trying it out, not for the single player story – cringe at me if your must – but for the Online experience.

Hello, Los Santos

Hello, Los Santos

I’m having a lot of fun with it to my surprise, after watching a slew of Youtube videos depicting player griefing as the main dish served, alongside bugs and glitches.

Riding shotgun in a stolen vehicle with a buddy is fun, until the cops show up

Riding shotgun in a stolen vehicle with a buddy is fun, until the cops show up

It helps that I dived right in with a friend, and the both of us had a whale of a time exploring the city over the last weekend. There is just so much to do, and it’s the little social activities that impresses me the most. Playing darts, tennis and golf are fun little distractions that holds your attention from the usual huslting. You get rewarded with experience and cash if you’re actually good at it.

Hot showers are a must

Hot showers are a must

Needless to say, cash is king in Los Santos, and I spent quite some time working my way through races, missions (both solo and with other players) and social activities to live the luxurious life: penthouse downtown with a garage full of stolen and modified sports cars.

Life in the fast lane: Selfie in my garage with cars I can never afford in two lifetimes

Life in the fast lane: Selfie in my garage with cars I can never afford in two lifetimes

Ah, good old Rockstar GTA. The online mode has always made me curious. The allure of gang rivalry and high stake heists in an open world is what truly sold me on this purchase. I can see myself spending many more hours in Los Santos well into 2016, as I have barely scratched the surface of online content.

Back in Middle Earth, the unexpected happened. I levelled my Dwarf Minstrel to 100, and have begin the process of gearing him up for end ga..I mean PvMP. That takes my tally of capped toons to four, and for the foreseeable future, this looks like my last one.

DING!

DING!

What made me do this is a question even I had to ask myself. Well, the previous four capped classes were the Captain, Champion, Beorning. Solid melee classes that functions as DPS, with the exception of the Captain and sometimes Beorning, who are flexible in transitioning to support and heals, depending on what I’m doing.

I’ve never played an outright healing class (ranged class to boot) and have always wanted to. My Minstrel, Aldun, was sitting at level 62 somewhere in Lothlorien when I decided to dust him off. The driving factor here was PvMP. I’m not burned out by my Cappy in the Moors, but due to recent Creep changes, there needed to be a better strategy for me to get the most out of my time in PvMP. I reckon running around as a healer would do the Freeps some good, and gives myself some much needed healer experience. Also, I get to be lazy and give the Creeps a run for their money.

To auto 95 or to do it the hard way..

To auto 95 or to do it the hard way..

The second driving factor is the Blessing of the Valar item. If there ever was a time to burn my TP, this was it. Since I was above level 50, the item is actually discounted to 2995 TP and that was pretty nice. No regrets here, being able to skip past draggy zones like Dunland and Rohan is convenient, and more about my experience using the level 95 level boost will be fully explored in a review post to come.

Let the commendation and essence grind begin!

Aldun at yer service!

Aldun at yer service!

Leave a Reply

