ARK: Survival Evolved – The Dino Game of My Dreams

Day 1

The glare from the sun interrupted my long slumber, and I groggily got up and looked around. I was on a beach, alone and freezing. I looked down. I had no clothes on, save for some branded white undies. Where the hell am I? The beach seemed to stretch on for miles. I raised my arms to rub my eyes and noticed a weird device implanted in my life arm. I scratched it. It hurt. My tummy growled, which made me move around. Behind some berry bushes, there was a Dodo. Aren’t these things supposed to be extinct? I punched it. It yelled at me kinda. I punched it again and the blow was fatal. I killed it. I continued punching it’s carcass and noticed stacks of raw meat entering my inventory. Neat! After foraging the berry bushes for some edible berries which took care of my hunger and thirst momentarily, I noticed I had earned plenty of experience and leveled up – I opened my inventory and put some points into my Health attribute, and decided to spend some Engram points into learning how to craft some basic tools for harvesting, a campfire to cook the raw meat (and to stay warm at night), and thatch buildings to build myself a little hut for the night. I feel safe, and glad, that I hadn’t ran into some deadly dinos yet.

Killing the Dodo granted me access to an encyclopedia type document. I reckon a previous survivor wrote this, and there must be more for other dinosaurs out there

Killing the Dodo granted me access to an encyclopedia type document. I reckon a previous survivor wrote this, and there must be more for other dinosaurs out there

After learning how to craft the campfire and thatch buildings, I gathered the materials from surrounding trees and rocks and got crackin

After learning how to craft the campfire and thatch buildings, I gathered the materials from surrounding trees and rocks and got crackin

Day 3

I am beginning to feel a lot stronger, and I like that I earn experience points by just being online in this forsaken island, on-top of doing everything needed to survive, from harvesting to crafting. The more experience I earn, the more better and advanced things I’ll be able to craft. I also happen to be good with primitive weapons, and have a choice to wield spears, slingshots and a bow and arrow to defend myself. I was able to take down a Dilo (Dilophosaurus) and a Raptor that strayed too close to my humble hut on the beach, but fear struck when I caught sight of something large coming up the beach in my direction. One look at the silhouette was enough to give me the chills. I retreated into my un-finished hut and hid in the corner, terrified. Being alone in this place is horrifying. I need a tribe.

Something big is out there..

Something big is out there..

Day 7

Overjoyed that I am no longer alone here. Pinch and Mel are also on this island, and together as a tribe, we were able to accomplish so much. The first difficult task was figuring out where on earth I was located on the map, and trying to direct the newcomers to me. GPS systems and trackers exists in ARK, but can only be attained at later levels and consumes a lot of advanced technology and materials.

It was a treacherous adventure, walking halfway across the island in search for my new recruit in the dark. Poor Pinch. Naked and all alone.

It was a treacherous adventure, walking halfway across the island in search for my new recruit in the dark. Poor Pinch. Naked and all alone.

After rounding the new tribe people, it was time to build. Manpower is key to survival, and I appointed myself as the builder of the group, the architect. Pinch was the tribe’s arm-smith and quartermaster, while Mel handled agriculture, growing farm plots and looking after the Dinos. Yes, by that I mean our own tamed dinosaurs! We were being attacked occasionally by semi-to large carnivores, which we dispatched easier since there were three of us. We finally decided to tame one for ourselves for a guard-dog and a hunting beast. Taming involves a lot of patience, narcotics and raw meat. Our unlucky target was a Carno (Carnotaurus), and we had to render it unconscious using tranquilizer arrows (crafted by combining stone arrows with narcotics), this is no easy task, and dangerous, if the Dino has a very high level. Once down, we started feeding it raw meat to start and complete the taming process. Three real life hours later, we got it.

Pinch & Mel helped me transform the humble hut into house.

Pinch & Mel helped me transform the humble hut into house.

Our very first carnivore, the Carno. You can ride most dinos in ARK, but you will need to learn the saddle craft and have the appropriate mats.

Our very first carnivore, the Carno. You can ride most dinos in ARK, but you will need to learn the saddle craft and have the appropriate mats.

Day 30

Survival and evolve are two words that are synonymous with each other, and a prime example of this is how far my tribe and I have come in ARK. We have guns, we have electricity, we have armor. We discovered oil at the bottom of the sea. We found crystals for silicon in caves, we found metal on the highest mountains, we leveraged aviation by taming Pteranodons – oh how times have changed.

Through the miracle of time, advancement and hard work comes the technology. We've got fridges, electricity for light and high-end machinery to survive for a long, long time.

Through the miracle of time, advancement and hard work comes the technology. We’ve got fridges, electricity for light and high-end machinery to survive for a long, long time.

The one thing we have not been able to accomplish was to hunt the ultimate predator on the island, the T-Rex. We’ve had run ins with a few of them on the island, and most times, it didn’t end well. The day had finally come, when the hunted became the hunters. We stalked our prey for hours, waiting for the right time to strike. We stocked up on tranquilizers and meat, prepared for the long taming process ahead. Well, I am here to tell you that our tribe has finally achieved our dream, of taming a Tyrannosaurus Rex.

We just tamed you. Please don't eat us.

We just tamed you. Please don’t eat us.

Pinch & Haffle take a ride on Aragorn, our Rex

Pinch & Haffle take a ride on Aragorn, our Rex

An aerial shot of our Base. Enclosed with high walls for safety, filled with tamed dinos, and packed with storage and technology. I can't believe we built all this.

An aerial shot of our Base. Enclosed with high walls for safety, filled with tamed dinos, and packed with storage and technology. I can’t believe we built all this.

Ark: Survival Evolved is everything I’ve ever wanted in a dinosaur survival game. And for a game that’s still in Alpha on Steam, the future looks good. There’s just so much more I could talk about, and with many more days to go on this forsaken island, I’ll cover my adventures here thoroughly.

This has been Haffle, blogging out of coordinates: Lat-78 Long-35. No we haven’t discovered internet yet, so don’t ask me how I posted this.

4 responses to “ARK: Survival Evolved – The Dino Game of My Dreams

  1. Still waiting for the first dino game / movie where the dinos have proto-feathers. Can’t help but thinking about that each time I see those naked dinos.

    PS That’s a lovely pink rig for the Rex! 🙂

  2. Pingback: ARK: SURVIVAL EVOLVED – Base woes, time to relocate | Level Up Haffle·

Leave a Reply

