Moors Weekend Report 12 April 2015

PVMP

20k+ renown earned this past weekend, a pleasant dose of progress for my Captain, Haffleheim. While I’ve dabbled in Bullroarer checking out Update 16 and the upcoming Legendary Item Imbuement System, that only held my interest for a limited time before I resorted to old habits and gave in to some proper Freep vs. Creep action on Landroval. Here are my top 3 observations of the action from Friday to Sunday.

Renown 12 April

Welcome to the Moors! PSA: Don't go AFK in Grothum.

Welcome to the Moors! PSA: Don’t go AFK in Grothum.

1. Delving (Delving of Fror/DF) Buffs and Fights

It’s a numbers game, and on a large server like Landroval where large group fights are a constant during prime time, the tug-of-war for Delving buffs is a meta game that PvMPers enjoy, and dread. For one, the buffs themselves – the Tree, the Drake, and the Fire Demon Dude – offers the faction who delivered the killing blow notable renown buffs that lasts from an hour up till six hours. And when you know the fights are only just beginning, that amounts to a ton of renown and infamy earned by the end of the night. This weekend most of the fights I was involved in were battles in the Delving, as both sides did their best to zerg the other at the final moments, trying to get the killing blow.  I like the idea of the Delving. Like light to flies, groups actively seek each other out down there when one large group goes missing from the map for some time. I do however, personally dread diving into the Delving solo, because it’s incredibly huge and I do get lost in there all the time. I highly recommend learning it’s pathways though, because players who traverse the Delving can cross the map quicker through shortcuts via the four outposts in the Moors and the entrances of OR and DG. So if you’re a raid leader on one of the active PvMP servers and notice that you don’t have any Delving buffs, take your group in there and get them. It’s well worth it. If you’re on a smaller server, know a crazy uber epic Warden? Persuade him to do a good deed for the Freeps. Call him a legend and give him cake.

With Delving buffs active, the total amount of renown earned from solo kills can be incredibly significant

With Delving buffs active, the total amount of renown earned from solo kills can be incredibly significant

I finally had a chance to sit back and appreciate the beauty of this Loremaster skill. It's breathtaking and devastating if you're a Creep

I finally had a chance to sit back and appreciate the beauty of this Loremaster skill. It’s breathtaking and devastating if you’re a Creep

2. Wardens will never get old

The masters of the shield and spear were meant rule the Moors. Just my observation: Back on Ridder, in the top 5% of Freeps, I could think of 3 Wardens that Creeps straight up avoided, or called in the zerg for. It’s almost similar on Landy, and with good reason. When built to suck the opposition out dry with bleeds, Wardens are brutal especially from range.  Give them a relic to carry or a pocket-healer, and they are literally unstoppable. This weekend I was reunited with Aegril (Now known as Pwnography) whom reminded me so much of Adino. I had a blast running around in his group raising hell. Skoch of Landroval is also very quickly becoming a role model for me as to how I should build and trait my Warden. His bleeds damages anywhere from 2,000 to 6,000 damage a tick, and most Creeps won’t know what got them until it’s over. But that’s not all worth admiring. They are your also your buff-go-getters (see observation above) and often do them solo. Keep them on your friends list.

Running around with Pwnography and the rest of Altoholics Anonymous

Running around with Pwnography and the rest of Altoholics Anonymous

3. Arachnophobia

Whether or not you’re an un-ranked Weaver or rank 5, or rank 14, I am afraid of you. You hurt me big time. You’ve got me looking at my reflection in the mirror, asking if I have the right gear on. If I’m traited properly. If my virtues are sufficient. If I’m a good player at all..Okay enough exagerration. You lot are incredibly tough, and it looks like Weavers are the new flavor of the month Creep class currently. I’ve seen so many this weekend – some un-ranked with store bought skills that can hurt – running around. I’ve struggled in those confrontations, especially when Memphatic Kiss, Tainted Kiss and Lethal Kiss are repeatedly applied on you and there’s only so many pots you can use at any one time to get rid of them. Those ranged skills are dangerous, acid-spewing DoT’s that if left accumulate, will reduce your morale and send you to the rez circle. And yes, I’m not ashamed to admit that a rank 11 Captain was defeated by a spider 5 ranks below. I will learn your ways, and I will rise to your challenge. (In other words, if you have any advise on how to overcome Weavers, please leave a comment). The first counter-measure is to stack more tactical mitigation and raw morale. Also, the Moors ring from your Class barter vendor dude will help a ton. It removes up to 3 poison effects on you when clicked. Think Limlit Gorge kinda bauble clickey thingy. You’ll also notice in my hotbar from the screenie below that I’ve put that ring there. I’ve had enough of Weaver poison. Funnily enough, my experiences with Weavers this weekend led me to create my own, just to see if I am able to replicate the somewhat astonishing success of the lower ranked Weavers I’ve come across. I shall be PVE-ing with it on Creepside to build up Audacity before I venture out to join fights.

Wiga and Haffle take on a pair of Weavers. 2 Kills, 2 Deaths. Mind you, our ranks were way apart

Wiga and Haffle take on a pair of Weavers. 2 Kills, 2 Deaths. Mind you, our ranks were way apart

Haffle's Weaver and minion

Haffle’s Weaver and minion

Well, 100, 000 renown to go till rank 12, Third Marshal, and shiny new steed, The People’s Courser. I’m glad that the Moors was left unchanged as I took a couple of months off. Freep and Creep populations look healthy on prime time and that’s always a good sign for an aging MMO. Landy’s non-prime time hours could use more PvMPers though. That way I can log in week-nights and still make a sizable amount of renown consistently throughout the week, not having to rely solely on weekends. A fellow Landy player mentioned that Brandy is active around the clock, and I am now somewhat tempted to check out the action there. But that’s a project for another time. Right now I’ve got my eyes set on the purple prize. Till the next report, adieu.

2 responses to “Moors Weekend Report 12 April 2015

  1. Wow really the most in depth PVMP report that I have ever seen… If there was more coverage (as good as this) maybe there would be more players…?

    • Haha, thanks for your comment Tsu! I wouldn’t call this good coverage myself hehe, but I love good written banter about pvmp! And one thing I sure do notice is that majority of pvmpers don’t browse, read or write blogs..they’re out there in the Moors all the time! 😉

Leave a Reply

